

SHVERSI

76th Annual Congress of the International Institute of Public Finance

University of Iceland August 19 - 21, 2020 Reykjavík | Iceland

Public Finance, Natural Resources and Climate Change

CALL FOR PAPERS

Submission Deadline February 15, 2020

Prospective contributors, both practitioners and academics, are invited to submit papers on any topic within the field of public economics. Further information on submission criteria is available at **www.iipf2020.hi.is**

Papers should be submitted through https://www.conftool.pro/iipf2020







UNIVERSITY OF ICELAND SCHOOL OF SOCIAL SCIENCES



76th Annual Congress of the International Institute of Public Finance



University of Iceland August 19 - 21, 2020 Reykjavík | Iceland

The theme of the 2020 congress is **Public Finance**, **Natural Resources**, and **Climate Change**.

Growing pressure from global warming has renewed the interest into environmental policies and also has revealed the close connection between the use of fossil resources and pollution.

Traditional mitigation measures like emission taxes and emission trading systems have been implemented, unevenly across countries, revealing problems of acceptability to the general public and compatibility with other public policies and customary tax practice.

But the uncertainty inherent in the potential scale of the damages created by climate change and their irreversibility has led to a change in perspective of mitigation policies whose objective is now to prevent a fixed carbon budget from being exceeded, often generating stranded assets. Moreover, some countries have already been forced to introduce adaptation measures in order to fight the consequences of climate change.

Both mitigation and adaptation affect public budgets and, thus, are relevant from a public finance point of view. The keynote lectures of the congress will therefore address the issue of global warming from a public finance perspective.

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS

Prof. Anna Alberini – University of Maryland, USA **Prof. Ottmar Edenhofer** – Technical University Berlin and Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE - CHAIRS

The papers to be presented at the IIPF Congress will be selected by the Scientific Committee. Only completed papers in PDF format will be considered. Non-IIPF-members must pay a submission fee of €20.

Acceptance decisions will be communicated by early April 2020. Authors of accepted papers are required to become members of the IIPF and to confirm their presentation by registering before June 1, 2020. Payment of the annual IIPF membership fee also ensures a reduced registration rate. For more information about IIPF membership please visit www.iipf.org/mbshp.

Selected papers from the 2020 IIPF Congress will be published in a special issue of International Tax and Public Finance. To be considered for publication in this issue, papers must be submitted to the journal by September 15, 2020.

Authors who wish to be considered for the IIPF Young Economists Award, the IIPF Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize (both for authors under 40 years), or the International Tax and Public Finance PhD Student Prize should indicate this when submitting papers for presentation. More information on the awards is available at www.iipf.org/awards.

Dr. Karen Palmer – Senior Fellow and Director of the Future of Power Initiative, USA Prof. Rick van der Ploeg – University of Oxford, UK

Prof. Mireille Chiroleu Assouline – Paris School of Economics and University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, France **Prof. Marco Runkel** – Technical University Berlin, Germany

MEMBERS

David Agrawal – University of Kentucky, USA / Felix Bierbrauer – University of Cologne, Germany / Pierre Boyer – CREST, École Polytechnique, France / Joshua Gottlieb – University of Chicago, USA / Mark Hafstead – Resources for the Future, USA / Ines Helm – Stockholm University, Sweden / Kaisa Kotakorpi – Tampere University, Finland / Marita Laukkanen – Helsinki Graduate School of Economics and VATT Institute for Economic Research, Finland / Adam Lavecchia – McMaster University, Canada / Benjamin B. Lockwood – Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, USA / Mohammed Mardan – Norwegian School of Economics (NHH), Norway / Torben Mideksa – Uppsala University, Sweden / Eva Mörk – Uppsala University, Sweden / Linda Nostbakken – Norwegian School of Economics (NHH), Norway / Hikaru Ogawa – University of Tokyo, Japan / Andreas Peichl – University of Munich - Ifo Institute, Germany / Paola Profeta – Bocconi University, Italy / Maria Racionero – The Australian National University, Australia / Nadine Riedel – University of Münster, Germany / Kerstin Roeder – University of Augsburg, Germany / Stefan Staubli – University of Calgary, Canada / Emmanuelle Taugourdeau – CNRS, CREST, ENS Paris-Saclay, France / Binzhen Wu – Tsinghua University, China

LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE - CHAIRS

Prof. Þórólfur Geir Matthíasson – University of Iceland, Iceland **Dr. Guðrún Johnsen** – École Normale Supérieure, France

MEMBERS

Ásgeir Daníelsson – Central Bank of Iceland / Benedikt Jóhannesson – Former Minister of Finance Daði Már Kristófersson – University of Iceland / Helga Jónsdóttir – Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs Katrín Ólafsdóttir – Reykjavík University / Sigurður Snævarr – Icelandic Association of Local Authorities